Sometimes a Bookmark is Just a Bookmark

28 Sep

I wanted to make Husband a bookmark, but I didn’t think my frou-frou flowery pattern was going to cut it, so I dug deep into the depths of CPC, my go-to site for free patterns, & found this awesome little thing:

Which, in context, looks like this:

(Yes, that’s a copy of Ethics for Behavior Analysts, and yes, I’ve read it.  I had to flip through a few pages to find one that wasn’t already highlighted or written on…  *sigh* I’m such a nerd).  Anyway.  Cute, right?  Well, I liked the little wheely pattern so much that I changed it a bit and turned it into this:

A headband!  Yay!

Now everyone is happy!  Husband likes his new bookmark, and I’m thrilled with my new hair accessory.  Hooray world!  })i({

(To change the pattern to a headband, just follow it as written, then, when you get to the end, instead of FO’ing and making a tassel, ch 20 (or however many will make it big enough for your head) & sl st to the other side to make a circle.  Easy Peasy! )

6 Responses to “Sometimes a Bookmark is Just a Bookmark”

  1. withduckandgoose September 28, 2010 at 11:59 am #

    gah! i’m so jealous of your crocheting abilities! no matter how hard i try, i just can’t do it right. and trust me, i’ve been trying and trying and trying. *le sigh* i guess we can’t all be awesome crocheters.

    p.s. the headband is so totally rockin’. LOVE.

  2. ferabeth September 28, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Well, I have been doing it since I was like, eight. Don’t be jealous, though. Sewing machines hate me, and always have. I’m considering throwing mine out of a window… I also suck at cross stitch, calculus, cleaning bathrooms, and not breaking drinking glasses.

  3. JoAnn Snyder October 3, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    yet another great gift idea for the voracious reader, hint, hint. I know John will keep this book mark forever. Looks like a sweet pattern. I, like Amy, am jealous! I can do very very basic crochet, but can’t follow a pattern to save my life.

  4. ferabeth October 4, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    Oh, don’t worry! It’s going to be a Homemade Christmas this year!

  5. MutantSupermodel October 6, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    Aw I’m happy I found you. I absolutely giggled at your saving a zillion dollars.

  6. ferabeth October 6, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Yay! Now, if only saving a zillion dollars was the same as HAVING a zillion dollars…

Comments are closed.