Melancholia

27 Jun

I spent some time in Pennsylvania recently.

I was there to say good-bye to my Uncle Johnny, who lost his struggle with MS.  I guess you could say I was in a rather melancholy mood during my visit, and I spent an afternoon wandering around my parents’ house taking picture of things.  There’s no real theme to these pictures other than my melancholia, but… here they are.

my brother's old baby blanket, which his 4 month old son now uses

 

moM's blue ball in the back yard

 

my great grandmother's button jar

 

one sad, lonely little flower petal

 

Nina's uncle Fraidy Cat, who will be retiring to our place in DC at the end of the summer

 

 

 

A lightswitch cover my moM painted a zillion years ago

 

daD's Navy memorabilia

And the piece-de-resistance (…or however you spell that)…

an egg. in a pepper. on the grill.

 

The egg thing was more about nom-ancholia than melancholia, I think.  =)

3 Responses to “Melancholia”

  1. JoAnn June 27, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    very ecclectic mixture. I like the lonely flower petal, button jar and baby blanket. I think is so cool your nephew is using his dad’s blanket !!!

  2. Jeanne June 30, 2011 at 4:42 am #

    You have my condolences on the loss of your uncle. It never gets any easier to lose someone you love. 😦

    On the lighter side… Your comment on Crochet with Raymond led me to your rag rug “tutorial” and I laughed so hard! Thank you for that!

    I like your blog and must add you to my feeds! 🙂

  3. ferabeth August 7, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Thanks, and thanks! I’m glad I could make you laugh. The best part is this: my mom is coming for a visit tomorrow and she’s decided to bring along her own t-shirts so we can make a rug for *her* this time! Aaargh!

Comments are closed.

