Fail Boat Redemption

8 Nov

I’m not a giver-upper, so I tried again to recreate the really cool project idea I discovered in New Mexico.  This time I made a bowl out of wool & mohair, which I then felted.

felted bowl, before stiffening

Felting is a fancy word for “the thing that happens when you put wool in the washing machine” – yes, that’s right.  Shrinking.  I’m not usually a fan of felting, but I wanted to give it a whirl.  I washed this bad boy in hot water (in the washing machine) a few times, then dried it in the drier.  I forgot to take a picture of what it looked like before the felting.  It looked like a bowl, only floppy, okay?  Okay.  Next step: stiffening.

We all remember what happened last time I tried to stiffen something, so this time I consulted the interwebs and made my own stiffening mixture, which included corn starch, water, and sugar.

like gravy, only sweeter!

I dunked my bowl in the mixture and set it out to dry on a bowl form, just as the interwebs instructed me to do.

what's that in the background? sprouts AND a plarn scrubbie? gosh, isn't THAT a coincidence?

It did not work at all.

Plan B: I painted on some store bought stiffening goop leftover from the Fail Boat Project and ended up with this:

Not too shabby!  I’m still not convinced that felting or stiffening are *good* ideas, but in this case, at least they didn’t suck.  })i({

